Disclaimer: This post will never make sense to you if you’ve never played or watched Far cry 3 by Ubisoft. Also, a little offensive language.

Vaas. Vaas Montenegro. Vaas is the best villain the game industry ever had, in my opinion at least. He had quite a lot of insanity and he was a very powerful warrior. Now, I am not here to appreciate about Vaas; you already know how flamboyant Vaas is period. I am here to share my opinion on Vaas here: what he really was…

Vaas is just Jason Brody turned evil.

If the above line was obvious to you- cheers because now you’ll understand my post easier. If the above line was shocking to you- don’t worry you’ll get it.

In fact, Vaas was aware of the line in bold himself. He was aware that Jason and Vaas are the same people just choosing different paths.

He never killed Jason directly, he always left him to die but he never really saw him die in front of his eyes. Vaas has probably killed so many people in his life so he should have known when a person will actually die, but he still gave Jason many chances to live.

vm

Beneath Vaas’s armour of insanity lies his sanity and love for the people he cares for.

Now, if you’ll remember the Mission where we had to Rescue Liza Snow, Vaas leaves us in a Burning Building. He even slips the useless lighter in Jason’s chest pocket. He could have just shot Jason or slit his throat, instead, he leaves Jason in a burning building where there were many high chances of Jason and Liza escaping.

s.PNG

Here he reveals quite a lot about himself. Citra and Vaas were siblings and Vaas used to be a Rakyat Warrior. According to their traditions, Vaas had to make Citra pregnant (because he was the greatest warrior in the Rakyat) and kill himself because there can’t be two great warriors in a tribe (and that was fucked up).

So he had to make this choice between his family and himself.

 like, like you know, like they fucking think that i need to make a fucking choice. By the way this lighter really sucks.

These were his exact words. He was not just born a betrayer or evil, his circumstances made him so.  And somewhere he did like the Rakyat, but he left to work for Hoyt because there was no choice.

Now recall the mission A man named Hoyt, when you go to Willis before undertaking the mission he plays a tape of Vaas and Hoyt talking.willis.PNG

Hoyt wanted Jason dead by Vaas but Vaas tries to redirect him, he tries to save Jason; he does not readily take the mission of killing Jason because he knows that Jason is a warrior just like Vaas.

Recall the mission Ambush, that’s when Vaas peek-a-boos Jason. And when he does come to kill Jason, he tries to drown him.

kill.PNG

But of course, Vaas fails – deliberately – and Jason almost escapes.

Vaas now finally shoots Jason and Jason nearly dies.

yh.PNG

Remember during our earlier mission when we had to save Liza?  Scroll above and see that I wrote how he slips a useless lighter in our chest pocket; Vaas, apparently, shoots us in our chest (pocket), the bullet interacts with the lighter instead of Jason’s heart and the very immortal Jason lives, again.

My point? Vaas could have shot him in the head. There would be no worries, instead, he had to shoot him in a very unfortunate place.

And when the time finally comes and we finally kill Vaas in one go…

citra i won.PNG

…Vaas reborn in Jason.

i won.PNG

How did Vaas awake in Jason’s soul? Well, Vaas was once former Jason, a good warrior who cares about his family and friends, but due to critical conditions, Vaas had to choose a difficult and evil path. Vaas became a monster due to that decision, and Jason was turning into a monster too. So when he finally killed Vaas, Jason triumphed and felt the surge of power in him because when the whole Rakyat could not take down Vaas, Jason did: and that’s when he was becoming Vaas (a monster).

Also, because Vaas’s decision of joining Hoyt was troubling him, he wanted to die; but not any death instead, an honourable death as such a great warrior he was. So he chose Jason and he wanted Jason to kill him; suicide is a coward’s way out and assassination by any other would be worthless and that’s where Jason comes in, a great warrior with potential.

So when Jason finally comes to kill Vaas, he resists a little but eventually lets Jason kill him like the sun eventually sets into dusk.


I also want to let you know why I think the sane Vaas is still deeply buried inside of him because when he makes his definition of insanity speech…

hh.jpg

Did I ever tell you what the definition of insanity is? Insanity is doing the exact… same fucking thing… over and over again, expecting… shit to change. That… is crazy; but the first time somebody told me that…I dunno, I thought they were bullshitting me, so boom – I shot him. The thing is, okay… He was right. And then I started seeing: everywhere I looked, everywhere I looked, all these fucking pricks, everywhere I looked, doing the exact same fucking thing… over and over and over and over again thinking: “This time, it’s gonna be different; no, no, no, no, no, please… This time it’s gonna be different.” …I am sorry, I don’t like the way you are looking at me… Okay, do you have a fucking problem in your head? Do you think I am bullshitting you? Do you think I am lying? Fuck you! Okay? FUCKYOU! It’s okay, man. I’m gonna chill, hermano. I’m gonna chill… The thing is… alright, the thing is: I killed you once already… and it’s not like I am fucking crazy. It’s okay… It’s like water under the bridge. Did I ever tell you the definition… of insanity?

…he almost seems sane in the beginning, especially when he says “But the truth is, he was right.” And the fact that after killing the person who originally gave him the definition of insanity, Vaas still pondered over what he said, and he found that he was actually right. Vaas probably kills hundreds of people in a month but thinking about what they said before Vaas killed them is actually kind of deep, sane actually.

{If you’ll say a sane person would actually not kill hundreds of people in a month, Vaas may not want to too but he has no other choice period.}


FarCry 3 is a very deep game, especially for an open world game so I’ll definitely make more posts about FC3 xx

~Aditi Mahadware

3 thoughts on “Vaas Montenegro: FarCry 3|VGame Journalism

  1. Wow. I stumbled upon this post just before I was about to leave your blog. And I’m surprised to see you actually wrote a piece about a character from a game. Really creative. I liked Farcry series very much. It was satisfying to see Jason staying back to protect the people in the village. But towards the end of the game, I just wished he had left when he rescued his friends.
    But I do differ from your point a little. The monster inside Jason was provoked right when Vaas killed Jason’s brother Grant in the beginning. The damage was already done.
    PS: I just finished FarCry3 for the 3rd time last month.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Woahhh!!!! This is so great… There was hardly anyone who knew about this game! Well yes this game is so deep that we all have different understandings :)) Same, finished it for the umpteenth time!

      Like

Leave a comment